top of page

The Heart of the Matter

Dear Friends, While we should speak with caution and hesitation about a silver lining in what we are all going through right now, it is natural that we look for something positive within this experience. One thing I have taken from this time is a renewed realization that we need each other, that we need to look after each other, that I need you and maybe you need me too. I have had to face up to the questions: What is at the heart of the matter? What matters most to me at this time? What doesn’t matter so much after all? What matters most to you? For me, love is at the top of the list. The love of family and of friends in particular. As I think of the people I love and who love me, I am lead to gratitude. Gratitude for the gift of love and for the support of loved ones. And love and gratitude then takes me to God - Love is from God and God is love.

Facing up to what matters most enables us to put order into the chaos of life. It gives us our bearings. Knowing what matters most is at the heart of listening for and following the way of Jesus. If love is “the heart of the matter,” then we will want to choose what builds up love and we will want to act in a way that expresses love.

Where have you experienced love in this time? How have you been able to share love with others? I know that we will be together again. It might not be exactly the way it used to be, but it will be good. So be patient and take care of yourself. I love you and miss you. And if you need to talk, please give me call. I’d love to hear from you.

All loving Creator, whose care for us is unfailing, use us to show others how you can bring good from evil and joy from suffering. May our faith in the coming resurrection give us the compassion and courage we need to bring Christ’s love to the world. Be with those who are sick, isolated, or fearful. Strengthen them with your love. Amen


Thursday, May 28 at 12:00 PM

Aging & Saging is “getting together” on Zoom.

For more information call Pastor Bob Meeting ID: 892 2994 5494

Password: 703129 Phone +19292056099,

,89229945494#,,1#,703129#




SHINE Zoom Small Group:

Thursday, May 28 at 06:00 PM


Connecting to God Every Day


It’s not to late to join us. If you are interested or would like more information please give Pastor Bob a call.






Jamestown Area Faith Community Food Fight In partnership with faith communities, Brigiotta's Market, and the Mobile Market we are addressing food security and issues of hunger within our city and the wider county. First Pres collected $2000 to be shared among area food pantries! We are still accepting donations for the Food Fight. Reminders: +The church office hours: 10:00-1:00 Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday. (Closed Monday and Friday) +If you would like to talk with me or need help in any way, I am in the office (487-1984) during office hours or you can reach me on my cell phone (499-7217) +Drive-in Worship 10:00 am +Come to church. Park and stay in your car. Tune your car stereo to 90.7 +Video Worship – Organ Prelude 10:30 Worship 10:45 am. Live Streaming at firstpresjamestown.com +The bulletin for Sunday is included in this email as an attachment. Peace, Pastor Bob


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page